Still-ing the moment

I am not a photographer and definitely not learning to be one. I actually hate understanding those photography jargons and tiny icons and digits appearing in my DSLR cam screen.

But I love ‘stilling moments’ and preserving them the way I want them remembered.

For as long as my memory takes me back in time, I have been coming up with ways on how to. Before I mastered the art of writing, I tried exploring sketching and simply doodling. But my supposedly dexterous left hand refused to cooperate so I got tired and decided I’d write instead.

It was during my secondary years when writing almost turned me down. My English teacher (who eventually became my declamation trainer) would most of the time give my write-ups back with ugly cross marks and rather low scores. But I loved writing, how could it not love me back? Or so I thought.

I was not endowed with conversational skills then, hence hardly seen in a group. Most often I would resign to my own thoughts, ponder for a moment and note down the words that came out of my mind so vibrant I thought they were all real. There were even times I was looking blankly at something when my brother’s voice snapped me out of that joyous reverie, “Never mind her. She’s having a world of her own.” Then I was back to reality.

I just wished my eyes had the super power to capture every lovely moment they would witness and produce it as a still image. Well I was a kid then.

My love for writing and chronicling moments – both good and bad – resulted in a box of diaries, poems, literary write-ups and random written thoughts, kept for years, yellowed and dilapidated, yet still readable until the super typhoon Yolanda struck and drowned them by a flood. I was in Abu Dhabi when my mom informed me. I thought a big part of my life had gone down the drain together with that precious box. I grieved for days.

Like anyone who lost someone or something dear, I moved on with my life. This time I shunned diaries away. I had gone from just writing to supporting my write-ups with graphics. That’s when my fondness for photos and videos came in.

 

2013 - sunset at QAS
2014 – Sunset at Qasr Al Sarab
2013 - Qasr Al Sarab
2014 – Breathtaking view of the desert and a part of Qasr Al Sarab

 

2010 - A lovely dandelion in Khalifa Park
2010 – A lovely dandelion in Khalifa Park
2010 - A vast rice field in Pototan. Ahh.. such a rustic and tranquil place.
2010 – A vast rice field in Pototan. Ahh..such a rustic and tranquil place to unwind and reflect.
2010 - Ducks in Pototan
2010 – Native ducks in Pototan
2013 - Morning coffee, awaiting Mico's arrival to the world
2013 – Morning coffee + breakfast, awaiting my youngest of nephews then to arrive in the world
2013 - Al Sahel Villa in Desert Islands
2014 – Al Sahel Villa in Desert Islands. Ideal for a romantic getaway
2013 - A view of Mt. Taal
2013 – A lovely view of Mt. Taal in Tagaytay
2012 - ATC
2012 – Alabang Town Center on a rainy evening
2010 - Our pitbull pups at play
2010 – Our pitbull pups at play
2010 - Having a rooftop BBQ dinner under this lovely evening sky
2012 – Rooftop BBQ dinner under this lovely evening sky at Evangelista Residence
2010 - Got my foot dirty after stepping into mud I thought was a dry earth
2010 – I got my foot dirty after mistakenly stepping into a mud.
2013 - Trudging the dry sands of the Empty Qtr
2014 – Trudging through dry sands of the Empty Quarters
2014 - I just loved the fries at Army Navy, topped with cheese and crushed bacon
2013 – Mouthwatering fries topped with cheese and crushed bacon at Army Navy
2013 - sunrise from the Empty Qtr
2014 – Sunrise at the Empty Quarter
2014 - My favorite floormat I bought from the Carrefour in Murroor. I somehow needed to enliven my room as I was living alon in the accommodation in Khalifa City
2014 – My favorite floor mat. I needed something to enliven my room somehow.
2014 - Stage for a fashion show I organized together with a PR agency during the F1 week
2014 – A fashion show I organized together with a PR agency during the F1 week
2015 - Blueberry cheesecake from Emirates Palace. Richer and creamier than that from Shangri-La
2015 – Blueberry cheesecake from Emirates Palace. Richer and creamier than that from Shangri-La, I have to admit

2015 - Buttered clams at Grillers

2015 - Clams this much at 20 pesos
2015 – Clams this much in Aklan costing 20 pesos. Not bad!

2015 - I always love going up to Evangelista residence rooftop and look at the houses around.

2015 - I always love watching the clouds, but I hate it when I'm up with them.

2015 - Mico in his best suit for his Tito Yan's wedding

2015 - Mouthwatering homemade spring rolls.
2014 – Homemade spring rolls for any occasion. It’s a must in the family.
2015 - Just after sunset at The Boardwalk, Iloilo
2013 – Dusk at The Boardwalk in Iloilo
2015 - This Aklanon gentleman. He's got a noble job.
2015 – This Aklanon gentleman. He’s got a noble job, no doubt about it.
Mama's gumamela in bloom. She finds happiness in taking care of her garden.
2012 – Mama’s gumamela in bloom. Her simple joys include her garden full of life and colors.
2015 - These tiny chili cheesesticks are way hotter than my Abu Dhabi wersion
2015 – These tiny chili cheese sticks are hotter than my Abu Dhabi version.
2015 - Baked oysters with melted cheese. Yum
2014 – Mouthwatering baked oysters topped with melted cheese. Yum!
Leave a Reply

